Dramatic and beautiful Narvik

Greetings from Narvik, I’m cruising tonight before take another railway trip to Stockholm. The next trip is a 19 hours long trip that I’m started to get used to already and to be honest it tiring but still love it. Let’s talk about Narvik a bit – well, this place is magical and romantic. Since I came down from the bus the view is incredible but Narvik is not only about the beautiful scenic, it is also a historical place and the force of nature.

Narvik is so much more than just beautiful nature! It was the first industrial town in Northern Norway and was given town status in 1902 as the construction of the Ofoten Railway was completed. A town centre was formed and its unique culture was, and still is, influenced by Swedish Navvies, British engineers and sailors from across the world.Due to the iron-ore that is transported from the mines in Kiruna (Sweden) to the shipping port in Narvik.

Narvik is the only place north of Fauske with a railway connection. The iron-ore, needed for the weapons industry, was the reason the Germans invaded Narvik on 1940. The heritage from the days of railway construction, navvy life and war time history is something you as a visitor may take part in.

But anyway the first thing I wanted to recommend you guys to go for here is the Cable Car ride – it is totally romantic and beautiful (even though I was drinking vodka not champaign LOL) And of cause I think if I had more time I’d go skiing but well.. I’m on my 40 days schedule so I will come back for it next time. At this time of the year (during September -April) we will be able to see the Northern Light or Aurora Borealis of which really magical.

See you soon on the train! Good night!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment